Tori Amos reveals details of new collection album “Gold Dust”


To tell you the truth we are not that excited for Tori Amos’s regurgitation of her former hits (and some misses). Tales Of A Librarian was cute, but to have it done all over again is not really what a toriphile looks for, especially since the last two albums were not up to par, in our opinion. We would like Tori Amos to go back to doing her rock-influenced tracks and less quirky balladeering. We are all for the personal evolution of an artist, but how long do we have to wait to get back to the glory of Boys For Pele?

At any rate, we still love her. Here are some details on this new anthology of sorts titled Gold Dust: “The album is produced by Amos with arrangements by long-time collaborator John Philip Shenale. Inspired by and following in a similar vein as Amos’s previous effort, the classical music album Night of Hunters (2011), Gold Dust features some of the artist’s previously released alternative rock and baroque pop songs re-worked in an orchestral setting. The re-imagined material for Gold Dust, consisting of songs personally selected by the artist spanning her entire catalogue from Little Earthquakes (1992) through Midwinter Graces (2009), was recorded with the renowned Metropole Orchestra, conducted by Jules Buckley.”

“The stimulus to both Gold Dust and Night of Hunters was a concert where Amos performed with the Metropole Orchestra as part of a “Week of the Metropole” series. The concert, performed at the Heineken Music Hall in Amsterdam on October 8, 2010, was the first orchestral concert of Amos’s career, and set the stage for recording the Night of Hunters album with the Apollon Musagète and its respective orchestral tour, while simultaneously recording tracks with the Metropole Orchestra that would comprise Gold Dust.

The project commemorates the 20th anniversary of the release of her debut solo album Little Earthquakes, as well as the music released since then. The collection has autobiographical leanings, with Amos opting for songs that represent a personal narrative instead of including a string of singles. Of the songs included in the project, Amos said, “[they are] a collection of new studio recordings of where they are now and who they have become”. Gold Dust mostly consists of songs culled from the 2010 Metropole Orchestra concert. While the original set list from the concert focused heavily on Amos’s then-recent holiday album, Midwinter Graces, the focus for Gold Dust shifts with four of the album’s 14 tracks from the Little Earthquakes era. In addition, three songs which were not performed during the concert were reworked for orchestra and added to extend the span of the collection over Amos’s music catalogue.

1. “Flavor” (from Abnormally Attracted to Sin (2009))
2. “Yes, Anastasia” (from Under the Pink (1994))
3. “Jackie’s Strength” (from From the Choirgirl Hotel (1998))
4. “Cloud on My Tongue” (from Under the Pink (1994))
5. “Precious Things” (from Little Earthquakes (1992))
6. “Gold Dust” (from Scarlet’s Walk (2002))
7. “Star of Wonder” (from Midwinter Graces (2009))
8. “Winter” (from Little Earthquakes (1992))
9. “Flying Dutchman” (from “China” (1992) single)
10. “Programmable Soda” (from American Doll Posse (2007))
11. “Snow Cherries from France” (from Tales of a Librarian (2003))
12. “Marianne” (from Boys for Pele (1996))
13. “Silent All These Years” (from Little Earthquakes (1992))
14. “Girl Disappearing” (from American Doll Posse (2007))

Each of Amos’s studio albums of original material is represented on Gold Dust with the exceptions of To Venus and Back (1999) and The Beekeeper (2005), which are the two albums in Amos’s discography that do not feature string arrangements by John Philip Shenale.

from Wiki.





One thought on “Tori Amos reveals details of new collection album “Gold Dust”

  1. Is she re recording the vocals too? I love everything up to Scarlet’s Walk, which I am not much of a fan. I wish she’d stop bastardising her old stuff. I really don’t see how she can improve Winter or Silent All These Years…

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>